Events

We’re partnering with some brilliant speakers to discuss the hottest topics in the field today.

You can register for these events by using the links below.

Online Dispute Resolution

Geneva Bar Association (ODAGE) & Swiss Interdisciplinary Centre for Affective Sciences (CISA)

25 January 2022

16:00 (BST)

Bar Assocation.PNG

Speakers

Dr. Ula Cartwright-Finch

Managing Director, Cortex Capital

Prof. David Sander

Director of the Centre Interfacultaire en Sciences Affectives (CISA), University of Geneva

Dr. Marcello Mortillaro

Head of the Applied Affective Sciences Research Unit, University of Geneva

Christopher Newmark

Partner, Spenser Underhill Newmark

Past Events

Witnesses and Webcams: The Psychology of Witness Evidence in a Virtual World

23 November 2021

17:00 (Singapore) / 09:00 (GMT)

HSF SMU Asian Arbitration Lecture.png

Speakers

Dr. Ula Cartwright-Finch

Managing Director, Cortex Capital

Mr Cavinder Bull, SC

Vice President, SIAC Court of Arbitration; CEO, Drew & Napier LLP

Assistant Professor Dorcas Quek Anderson

Associate Dean, Yong Pung How School of Law, SMU

Mr Alastair Henderson

Managing Partner, Southeast Asia, Herbert Smith Freehills

Ms Gitta Satryani

Partner, Herbert Smith Freehills

Decision, Interrupted: Breaking Bias in Arbitrator Appointments

28 October 2021

12:15 (ET)

CCA 2021 image_edited.jpg

Speakers

Dr. Ula Cartwright-Finch

Founder and Managing Director, Cortex Capital

Dr. Angela Foster

Law Office of Angela Foster

Hon. Shira A. Scheindlin

US Senior District Judge for the District of New York, Retired

How Valuable is Witness Testimony?

26 October 2021

14:50 (HKT)

HKAW Image.PNG

Speakers

Dr. Ula Cartwright-Finch

Founder and Managing Director, Cortex Capital

Toby Landau QC

Barrister and Arbitrator, Duxton Hill Chambers

Hon. Robert C. Tang GBM SBS QC SC JP

Non Permanent Judge of the Hong Kong Final Court of Appeal

Kanice Chan

Executive Director Litigation and Investigations Asia, Nomura International (Hong Kong)

Women in Business Series: In Conversation with Dr Ula Cartwright-Finch

7 October 2021

17:30 (BST)

Brown Rudnick.png

Speaker

Dr. Ula Cartwright-Finch

Managing Director, Cortex Capital

Memory and witness evidence

24 June 2021

12:00 (Singapore)

SIAA Event.png

Speakers

Dr. Ula Cartwright-Finch

Managing Director & Scientist, Cortex Capital

Psychology in Oral Advocacy: Using Science to Persuade International Tribunals

22 June 2021

11:00 (ET) / 15:00 (GMT)

ASIL.png

Speakers

Doak Bishop

Partner, King & Spalding

Dr. Ula Cartwright-Finch

Managing Director, Cortex Capital

Jennifer K. Robbennolt

Co Director, Illinois Program on Law, Behaviour and Social Science, University of Illinois College of Law

Sabina Sacco

Independent Arbitrator, Sabina Sacco Arbitration

Psychology of decision making in dispute resolution

12 May 2021

15:30 (GMT)

London International Disputes Week.jpeg

Speakers

Ben Giarreta

Partner, Fox Williams

Dr. Ula Cartwright-Finch

Founder, Cortex Capital

Professor Jean Sternlight

University of Nevada

Chiann Bao

Arbitrator, Arbitration Chambers

Professor Jennifer Robbennolt

University of Illinois

Stepan Puchkov

Founder, PsychoLAWgy

Negotiation tactics in dishonesty cases

14 April 2021

15:55 (GMT) / 16:55 (EET)

Arbitration and Fraud Russia & CIS_500x5

Speakers

Mike Cooke

Managing Director, Kroll

Anne-Karin Grill

Founder and Principal, AKG Advisory

Dr. Ula Cartwright-Finch

Managing Director, Cortex Capital

Mikael Krapivin

Executive Coach, Krapivin Coaching

The accuracy of fact witness memory in international arbitration

19 January 2021

08:00 (New York) – 13:00 (London) –

14:00 (CET) – 21:00 (Singapore)

ICC logo.png

Speakers

José Astigarraga

Co-Chair of the Task Force, Partner, Reed Smith, Miami 

Dr. Ula Cartwright-Finch

Scientific Advisor to the Task Force, Managing Director, Cortex Capital, London

Ragnar Harbst

Co-Chair of the Task Force, Partner, Baker & McKenzie, Frankfurt

Toby Landau QC

Barrister, Advocate and Arbitrator, Essex Court Chambers, Singapore

Dr. Hélène Van Lith

ICC Commission on Arbitration and ADR, ICC International Court of Arbitration, Paris

Christopher Newmark

Immediate Past Chair, ICC Commission on Arbitration and ADR, Partner, Spenser Underhill Newmark LLP, London

Susanne Gropp-Stadler

Vice Chair, ICC Commission on Arbitration and ADR, Lead Counsel and Head of Litigation, Siemens AG, Munich

Dr. Kimberley Wade

Scientific Advisor to the Task Force, Cognitive Psychologist, University of Warwick, Coventry